Get your own Little Black Book.

Build your own personal news stream. Discover the latest work created that interests you, share your favourite stories and follow your favourite people and companies

Already have an account?

Awards and Events

The Marketing Hall of Fame Announces 2015 Inductees, 2 years, 7 months ago

Shelly Lazarus, Yvon Chouinard, Trevor Edwards & David Aaker selected

The Marketing Hall of Fame Announces 2015 Inductees

The American Marketing Association, NY Chapter today announced four practitioners responsible for outstanding contributions to the field of marketing as 2015 inductees to its Marketing Hall of Fame: Shelly Lazarus, chairman emeritus, Ogilvy & Mather; Yvon Chouinard, founder, Patagonia; Trevor Edwards, president, Nike Brand, Nike, Inc.; and David Aaker, vice chairman, Prophet, professor emeritus, UC Berkeley's Haas School of Business.

The four will be celebrated at the 2015 Marketing Hall of Fame induction ceremony on Thursday, May 21, 2015, 6:00-9:00 pm at the offices of JWT New York, 466 Lexington Ave. at 45th St. Click here to purchase tickets.

The Marketing Hall of Fame is unique in celebrating brilliance in marketing across all marketing fields and types of organizations, including corporations, agencies, consulting firms and universities.  This annual honor is presented to active marketing practitioners with a minimum of 10 years experience.  The criteria include: developing marketing innovations which have dramatic impacts on business results, raising marketing’s profile in business overall and mentoring and inspiring the next generation of marketers.

The selection process began last September with an open call for nominations, drawing more than 100 nominations.  NYAMA’s 17-member Marketing Hall of Fame Committee evaluated the nominations against the inductee criteria and developed a shortlist of the 50 highest-qualified nominees.  That list was narrowed to 10 finalists based on votes by the Marketing Hall of Fame Academy, an exclusive, invitation-only body of 175 senior marketers, agency executives, researchers and academics hand-selected by the NYAMA Board of Directors. Click here to view the complete list.

This year’s four inductees were selected from the finalists list by the Marketing Hall of Fame Final Judging Panel, which included top executives from the industry’s leading marketing, advertising and research associations and organizations — David W. Almy, CEO, Marketing Research Association (MRA); Gayle Fuguitt, CEO, Advertising Research Foundation (ARF); Nancy Hill, CEO, American Association of Advertising Agencies (4As); Bob Liodice, CEO, Association of National Advertisers (ANA); Kendall Nash, president, Qualitative Research Consultants Association; Bruce Nelson, former vice chair, Omnicom, and Earl Taylor, CMO, Marketing Science Institute — as well as 2014 Marketing Hall of Fame inductees Beth Comstock, senior vice president, CMO, General Electric; Philip Kotler, S.C. Johnson & Son professor of International Marketing, Kellogg School of Management, Northwestern University, and Joseph V. Tripodi, former executive vice president, chief marketing & commerce officer, The Coca-Cola Company.

“We established the Marketing Hall of Fame as a forum for the marketing community to recognize an extremely select group of our colleagues for the many brilliant ways they have advanced our profession,” said Don Sexton, NYAMA president and professor of marketing, Columbia Business School.  “We are extremely proud to celebrate the contributions to marketing made by David Aaker, Yvon Chouinard, Trevor Edwards and Shelly Lazarus, who truly represent the pinnacle of leadership and innovation in the field.”

The Marketing Hall of Fame induction ceremony on May 21 will begin with cocktails and hors d’oeuvres,  followed by presentations from each of this year’s inductees.  By providing an overview of their careers and most notable successes, the event will offer attendees rare insights into each inductee’s view of how marketing will evolve in the future. 

The Marketing Hall of Fame Committee is co-chaired by Joanna Seddon, president, Global Brand Consulting, OgilvyRED, and Robert Kahn, founder, Kahn Consulting, Inc., and includes Don Sexton, NYAMA president and professor of marketing, Columbia University; Randall Ringer, NYAMA past president and CEO, Verse Group LLC; Elizabeth Kiehner, senior design manager/chief of staff, IBMiX; Lee Hornick, president, Business Communications Worldwide; Lukas Pospichal, managing director, GreenBook and NYAMA; Mandy McMaster, program coordinator, NYAMA and others.

Genre: People