Get your own Little Black Book.

Build your own personal news stream. Discover the latest work created that interests you, share your favourite stories and follow your favourite people and companies

Already have an account?

Hires, Wins & Business

AWARD Names The Sweet Shop's Wilf Sweetland as Chair

The Sweet Shop - Melbourne, 1 year, 11 months ago

Wilf takes on the role from Mark Harricks who steps down after two years

AWARD Names The Sweet Shop's Wilf Sweetland as Chair

Wilf Sweetland, managing partner of The Sweet Shop, has been appointed chair of the Australasian Writers and Art Directors Association (AWARD), taking on the role from Mark Harricks who steps down after two years.

Key achievements under Harricks' leadership include a revamp of AWARD School in 2014, important partnerships with AGDA, Semi-Permanent and D&AD, and an ongoing commitment to tackling the issue of diversity in the creative industry.

Says Harricks (left): "It has been a rewarding two years at the helm of AWARD, and I am very proud of the positive steps we have taken, particularly in light of our new ties with a number of major creative organisations, and the important work we have begun in the area of diversity - a focus that will continue. I would like to thank Wilf and the AWARD Committee for their support, commitment and passion. And a big thanks to the Comms Council team!

"I am delighted to welcome Wilf as the new chair. He brings a wealth of experience both as an AWARD Committee member and supporter but also as an accomplished industry player. With more than 13 years experience producing commercials in Australia and around the world, he has great understanding of the local market and the direction for AWARD."  

A longstanding advocate and driver of AWARD, Sweetland previously held the role of deputy chair and has held a position on the AWARD Committee since 2011. 

Says Sweetland, who also sits on The Communications Council's national board: "I'd like to thank Mark for his guidance, knowledge and commitment over the past two years. It has been a privilege to work with him, and I have learned much. This is an exciting time for AWARD, with several key developments the Committee has been working on due to come to fruition next year - I am delighted to be leading us into that next phase.

"I'd also like to take this opportunity to warmly welcome Cam Blackley, ECD of BMF, and Paul Nagy, ECD of Clemenger BBDO, to the AWARD Committee, both of whom bring many years of experience working in some of the world's best creative agencies." 

The full list of AWARD Committee members is as follows:

Wilf Sweetland - Managing Partner, The Sweet Shop (CHAIR)

Peter Ogden - Creative Director

Justine Metcalfe - Creative Partner, YOLO

Tim Buesing - Executive Creative Director, Reactive

Niccola Phillips - Head of Art, M&C Saatchi

Simon Jarosz - Creative Director, Mediacom

Julie Faktor - Creative Director, Yonder

Jane Burhop - Creative Co-Founder, Common Ventures

Cam Blackley - Executive Creative Director, BMF

Paul Nagy - Executive Creative Director, Clemenger BBDO